Souplantation – Vegan menu options

Souplantation - Valencia

Souplantation is one of my favorite places to eat here in the SCV. For those unfamiliar, Souplantation is a reasonably-priced buffet that features a large and extensive salad bar, soups, pastas and baked goods. Their salad bar offers freshly prepared tossed salads, fresh green lettuces, spinach or mixed greens with tons of fresh veggies to make your own salad. In addition to that they offer “prepared salads” (think potato, pasta and bean salads) some of which are also vegan. I have yet to see a vegan dish at the pasta bar but they do have several vegan soups that are available from time to time. Baked potatoes, fresh fruit, juice and tea are all available as well.

Ingredient lists for each item is available in a three-ring binder behind each buffet counter. You can view it upon request, and I have read it dozens of times. I have nearly memorized which items are vegan and which ones are not. They have these surveys that customers may fill out; so I would, and I always ask for more vegan items. I have sent e-mails making the same requests and finally I started calling their corporate phone number. Some people would say this is going a tad overboard with the whole thing, but remember that they did ask for my opinion when they handed me those surveys. Besides, for those of you whom are not willing to put yourselves out there and talk to these people then be glad that some of us are; it benefits all of us.

In my last conversation with Souplantation they told me that they have been getting lots of responses from vegans and they decided to actually add the word “VEGAN” to items in their nutritional booklets and their on-line menu. I was also told they were considering putting the word “VEGAN” to the actual name tag on the salad bar to note which items were indeed vegan. They already list “Vegetarian” on these name tags but vegetarian to them includes dairy and eggs, so if you’re not sure just check the binder. (Note: in some of the vegetarian soups there is an ingredient called “Vegetarian Base” which contains lactose, so if you see this in the ingredient binder it is not vegan).

Menu items change every two weeks and you can see what your local Souplantation is serving by checking the menu on their website. (Hint: Click “Future Menu” to see what they will be offering weeks from now). I prefer to go when there are vegan soups offered, so if I check today I can see that they are offering one vegan soup (Santa Fe black bean chili) and one vegan prepared salad (Mandarin noodles w/broccoli). Coupons are offered constantly in the paper (Sunday, L.A. Times), and you can get printable coupons e-mailed to you if you join their “Club Veg” mailing list. Coupons are usually valid up to four people so bring your friends or family and enjoy a good meal at Souplantation-Valencia.

Souplantation-Valencia is located in the Valencia Town Center @
24303 Town Center Drive, Suite 150
Valencia, CA 91351

14 Responses

  1. The best place for vegan soup in Santa Clarita is definitely the Cal Arts cafeteria. I don’t even go there, but I often find myself there and if I find myself there and I happen to be hungry I know exactly what Im getting: $1.50 cup of the vegan option soup. They have different options everyday and if you ask nicely they’ll throw a scoop of brown rice in your soup. It’s a pretty good deal.

    Looking forward hearing about other cruelty-free restaurants around town.

    • Thanks for the tip! There’s also a small cafe inside Spectrum gym really close to soup plantation. The menu is small but they offer a few vegan soups and baked goods that are all really tasty.

  2. Are there any Fresh Choices around your area? I’m not sure if all of them do this, but the ones I’ve been to, so far, specify if things are vegan. It’s pretty neat! I think it’s on the same level of Souplantation, tastewise. I get them confused a lot, actually. But it’d be awesome if Souplantation started doing this. It’s great that you’re pursuing so far.

  3. Souplantation puts msg in everything .
    not heathly

    • Are you sure about that? I have personally read the ingredients of many of the items at Souplantation and do not recall seeing MSG. I usually remember stuff like that and would be put off if i saw MSG listed. The people who work there probably all know me as the weird guy that always asks to see their big binder of ingredient lists. haha. I have only read the items i think might be vegan, so nothing that clearly contains dairy, meat, eggs, etc, so those I can’t say but the vegan items I have read, no MSG that i remember. You can always ask to see the ingredient lists of any item you question. Three-ring binders are kept behind each counter and you can ask an employee to see it. I will check again next time i visit.

  4. I was told this a few years back and haven’t eaten there since. maybe they changed ? Awesome if that’s true. I loved going there.

    • I will definitely check again, but i would be surprised if i missed that in the vegan items. I actually comb over their ingredient lists of anything that looks vegan. The only thing that bothers me is their use of lactose in their vegetarian soup base. Not all of their vegetarian soups use it, and it’s a shame because those soups would be vegan if they just dropped the milk sugar. oh well, haha. Definitely go in and ask to see the ingredients for any given item, they will let you read it.

  5. Curious, what’s makes their vegetarian soups not vegan?

    • Just to be clear…I’m not talking about the ones that obviously are not vegan (anything with cream or cheese), I’m referring to soups such as “Vegetable Bean & Barley Stew”, “Vegetable Medley”, “Smoky Pinto & Brown Rice”, “Pinto Bean & Basil Barley”, etc. These certainly *look* like they don’t have any dairy. Thanks.

    • Hey Justin! Many of the soups listed as “vegetarian” use Souplantation’s “Vegetarian Base” as the base soup stock. This contains lactose, or milk sugar in the ingredients. The Vegetable Medley i believe does not use the Vegetarian Base, but it is not listed as vegan for some reason. I am guessing it is because it uses V8 as an ingredient and they do not want to be responsible for them if their ingredients change, but i am not sure. The other soups you listed do use their Vegetarian Base. I have sent Souplantation lots of polite requests to remove the lactose from their vegetarian base. Not just for vegans but because it is a very common allergy and i feel it is an unnecessary ingredient.

  6. Dude… Well I certainly hope V8 is vegan because otherwise that would be a real bummer. Though, it makes sense now why Souplantation’s Vegetable Medley is listed as Vegetarian and not vegan. Thanks for the link.

  7. I wish I had read your post before my recent visit! I’m definitely asking about the binder next time. Do you happen to know if the wonton chicken happiness dressing (dressing only) is vegan? I used to love that salad before I went vegan and would put the dressing on a salad I made from the salad bar.

  8. They offer “vegan” minestrone soup. The soup contains pasta. I asked to see the ingredients in the pasta. Egg yokes and some kind of egg powder is used to make the pasta. NOT a vegan soup. I am very disappointed. The company headquarters and restaurant staff need to be trained on what exactly vegan is.

Leave a Reply

