Pom Wonderful – Thanks Dudes!

Pom Wonderful sent me some FREE pomegranate juice in the mail; obviously because they are huge fans of this Santa Clarita vegan blog. Well, perhaps “huge fans” is a bit of an overstatement, but I did receive an e-mail saying that they liked what my blog was about and wanted to send me some of their juice. Hey, who am I to turn down free stuff?

Not even two weeks later I had a box of juice waiting for me, along with some cold packs keeping them cool and an envelope of health information on the benefits of drinking pomegranate juice. Not to give the impression that I have something special going on, as Pom Wonderful has sent some of their juice to other bloggers as well; albeit some were more grateful than others. Though, it is worth noting that Pom Wonderful did not ask me for a blog posting, I was only told that they like what my blog is about and that they would like to send me some of their juice. Pretty nice I think, thanks Pom Wonderful! Oh, and I also want to thank Molly from Pom Wonderful for sending me that first e-mail.

Now the question is what should I do with all of this pomegranate juice? I know I could just drink it, but where is the fun in that? On Pom’s website they have a recipe section, so I am thinking creativity is encouraged. Any thoughts? I notice that they have a category for mixed drinks and cocktails, but no beer. Right now I am heavily leaning towards a Pom Wheat Beer, or maybe a Pom infused (Reddish) Blonde Ale. Other beer-syle suggestions are welcome!

4 Responses

  1. FYI, they are targeting all the popular vegan bloggers in order to try and help save their image after all the animal testing they’ve done in the past which resulted in major boycotts.

    I got the vegan smackdown from other vegans for accepting the free POM juice myself, so get ready for some possibly angry comments.

    My opinion is that they are no longer testing on animals after responding to the pressure and boycott, so I have no problem using their stuff. After all what’s the point of a boycott of people are just going to keep boycotting after their demands are met? I don’t personally buy the stuff, but that’s because I don’t normally buy juice, especially expensive juice… but I was happy to try the free samples. Got me in a lot of trouble with some of the more politically correct folks out there though.

  2. My husband made a sort of Granita with it (which they have on their website), but he didn’t really add anything and it was delicious!

  3. Foodeater,
    Yeah I’m aware of their animal-testing past, but where is it in the vegan handbook that says all vegans must be bitter and hold life-long grudges? We’re on the same page regarding the boycott; thanks for looking out for this rookie vegan blogger!

  4. I didn’t know about the testing, but here’s a post about the FDA taking issues with POM’s labeling, website, and nutritional claims:

    http://soulveggie.blogs.com/my_weblog/2010/03/fda-cites-pom-products-as-drugs.html

Leave a Reply

